Disable clustering

Temporarily deactivate a node in a cluster while keeping it visible in the device list.

You may want to deactivate a node in preparation for deleting the node, or temporarily for maintenance. This procedure is meant to temporarily deactivate a node; the node will still appear in the Cloud-Delivered Firewall Management Center device list. When a node becomes inactive, all data interfaces are shut down.

Procedure


Step 1

For the unit you want to disable, choose Devices > Device Management, click More (more icon), and choose Disable Node Clustering.

Disable clustering
Disable Clustering

If you disable clustering on the control node, one of the data nodes will become the new control node. For centralized features, if you force a control node change, then all connections are dropped, and you have to reestablish the connections on the new control node. You cannot disable clustering on the control node if it is the only node in the cluster.

Step 2

Confirm that you want to disable clustering on the node.

The node will show (Disabled) next to its name in the Devices > Device Management list.

Step 3

To reenable clustering, refer to Rejoin the cluster.